Pages

Friday, August 9, 2019

Best Books of the Week in Crime Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense and True Crime | Publication Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2019


Best Books of the Week in Crime Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, and Suspense
Publication Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Here are my book recommendations for this coming week.
  • You still have time to pre-order these title.
  • Click on the title, and the link will take you to each publisher's website (whenever possible), or to IndieBound.org.
  • Click on the author, and the link will take you to each author's Twitter account (whenever possible).


The eleventh mystery in the Edgar award-winning Stewart Hoag mystery series

by Jo Spain (Crooked Lane Books)
The second book in the series by the Irish bestselling author is a sharp, timely political thriller/murder mystery.

Cold Woods by Karen Katchur (Thomas & Mercer, Amazon Publishing)
The follow-up to Katchur's brilliant domestic thriller River Bodies is Book 2 of 3 in Katchur's Northhampton County series. 

Play with Fire by William Shaw (Mulholland Books)
This police thriller set in 1969 London is the fourth in the Breen & Tozer mystery series. Shaw is an incredibly talented author, and I've loved his writing since reading She's Leaving Home in 2014. He perfectly captures "Swinging Sixties" London. 

The Hidden Things by Jamie Mason (Gallery Books/Simon & Schuster)
This art heist thriller is "inspired by the real-life unsolved theft of a seventeenth-century painting" blends conspiracy, organized crime and psychological thriller elements. Mason's latest is sizzling and scary! 

Set in Miami, this final installment in the critically acclaimed Pete Fernandez noir series "reinvented the private eye novel for a new generation," and he's going out on top. Alex Segura is one of our best crime fiction writers. 
You do not want to miss this! 

A Keeper by Graham Norton (Atria Books/Simon & Schuster)
I adore Graham Norton and delighted in his debut novel Holding, a darkly comic mystery set in a remote Irish village (a New York Times bestseller). A Keeper is the story of a young woman returning to Ireland after her mother's death who tries to unravel the identity of her father. I highly recommend.

The Swallows by Lisa Lutz (Random House)
Lutz speaks truth to power and exposes the gender war, and the savagery of teenage girls, in this incredible psychological thriller.


The Doll Factory by Elizabeth Macneal (Emily Bestler Books/Atria Books/Simon & Schuster)
This Gothic historical and psychological thriller, set in 1850's London, already is an international bestseller. Macneal's debut is ideal for fans of The Crimson and the White, The Alienist, and The Historian.

Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh (Flatiron Books)
Steve Cavanagh is an international bestselling, award-winning author, and deservedly so. In Thirteen (the fourth Eddie Flynn legal/courtroom/crime thriller), "the serial killer isn't on trial...he's on the jury!"
 Someone needs to option this series and get it on the screen!

* * * * *

Already a New York Times bestseller (the audio book was released in April 2019), Chase Darkness with Me is an enthralling memoir and true crime narrative.Billy Jensen is  "an American true crime investigative journalist and producer, focusing on unsolved crimes, citizen detectives, and crowdsolving."